266 captures

04 Oct 1999 - 02 Apr 2025

Jul	SEP	Oct
	05
2013	2015	2016

success

fail

About this capture

COLLECTED BY

Organization: Internet Archive

The Internet Archive discovers and captures web pages through many different web crawls. At any given time several distinct crawls are running, some for months, and some every day or longer. View the web archive through the Wayback Machine.

Collection: Wide Crawl Number 13

Web Wide Crawl Number 13

TIMESTAMPS

Ireland

Contents

Information related to all of County Armagh

County Armagh Towns and Parishes

"   ARMAGH (County of), an inland county, in the province of ULSTER, bounded on the north by Lough Neagh, on the east by the county of Down, on the south-east by that of Louth, on the south-west by Monaghan, and on the west and north-west by Tyrone: it is situated between 54" 3' and 54" 31' (N. Lat.), and between 6" 14' and 6" 45' (W. Lon.); and comprises, according to the Ordnance survey, 328,076 statute acres, of which 267, 317 acres are tillable, 17,941 are covered with water, and the remainder is mountain and bog. The population, in 1821, was 197,427; and, in 1831, 220,134. The county is partly in the diocese of Dromore, but chiefly in that of Armagh. For civil purposes it is now divided into the baronies of Armagh, Turaney, O'Neilland East, O'Neilland West, Upper Fews, Lower Fews, Upper Orior, and Lower Orior. It contains the city and borough of Armagh; part of the borough, sea-port, and market-town of Newry; the market and post-towns of Lurgan, Portadown, Tanderagee, Market-hill, and Newtown-Hamilton; the disfranchised borough of Charlemont; the post-towns of Richhill, Keady, Blackwatertown, Loughgall, Tynan, Forkhill, and Flurry-Bridge; and the market-towns of Middleton and Crossmeglan, which, with Killylea, have each a penny post." [From the County Armagh segment of Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]

Archives and Libraries

• Abbreviations used in these Armagh pages:
  

ACM	-	Armagh County Museum
AIGS	-	Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies -- County Armagh holdings
APL	-	Armagh Public Library
BOD	-	Bodleian Library, Oxford University, England
BL	-	British Library, London, England
CMS	-	Craigavon Museum Services
GO	-	Office of the Chief Herald of Ireland, National Library of Ireland, Dublin
ILS	-	Irish & Local Studies Library, 39c Abbey Street, Armagh BT61 7EB
LDS	-	Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints, Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A.
LIN	-	Linen Hall Library, Belfast
NAI	-	National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
NIPL	-	Northern Ireland Public Libraries
NIFHS	-	North of Ireland Family History Society - Research Centre
NLI	-	National Library of Ireland, Dublin
PRO	-	The National Archives at Kew, England
PRONI	-	Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast
QUB	-	Queen's University Library, Belfast
RAS	-	RASCAL: Research & Special Collections Available Locally, Belfast
RCBL	-	Representative Church Body Library, Dublin
RUM	-	Royal Ulster Rifles Museum
UFM	-	Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
UUL	-	University of Ulster - Library

• Record Repositories - list of articles providing pointers to records repositiories in Northern Ireland, published in North Irish Roots, a periodical published by the North of Ireland Family History Society

Bibliography

• Book list
• Online resources
  • Archaeological and Historical Journals, a compilation by Thaddeus C. Breen
  • Armachiana, or Armagh Miscellanea, at the Armagh County Museum
  • BIFHS-USA Guide to British Isles Research, from the British Isles Family History Society - U.S.A.
  • Libraries and Publications, from TIARA [The Irish Ancestral Research Association]
  • Fianna
  • Centre for Irish and Scottish Studies, University of Ulster
  • Queen's University, Belfast - Special Collections
    
  • Seanchas Ardmacha, Volumes 14-17 - Index of journal article titles
    

Biography

• Book list
  
• Online resources
  • Dictionary of Ulster Biography: developed by the Ulster History Circle
    
  • Ulster History Circle - plaques "in honour of famous men and women who have contributed to Ulster's history"
  • Weatherup, D.R.M., F.M.A., Swift in County Armagh, from Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • Webb, Richard Davis, A Compendium of Irish Biography: Comprising Sketches of Distinguished Irishmen, Eminent Persons Connected with Ireland by Office of by Their Writings (Dublin: M.H. gill & Son, Sackville Street, 1878) - hosted by Books Ulster
    

Business Records and Commerce

• Alphabetical index to the names contained in the premium entitlement lists of the trustees of the linen and hempen manufactures of Ireland: also known by the short title: 1796 spinning wheel survey of Ireland, All-Ireland Heritage, Vienna, Va., c1986 (12 microfiches, All-Ireland Heritage microfiche series)
• Brief history of the Irish linen industry, from the Irish Linen Guild
• Fair towns in Ireland, 1834, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland web site
• Lindsay, Henry L., An essay on the agriculture of the county of Armagh, John M'Watters, 17, English-Street, Armagh, 1836
• Records held at the PRONI
  • Business records, an introduction
  • Dundrum, Co. Armagh, blacksmiths and scutch mill documents, PRONI ref. D/2140
  • Fruitfield Jam Factory, Co. Armagh papers, PRONI ref. T/3791
  • The Greer, Lowry and Alexander Papers
  • Turner Robert & Co., ironmongers and coal merchants, Armagh papers, PRONI ref. MIC/83
  • Waddell, whiting works, Maralin, Co. Armagh papers, PRONI ref. D/1655
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Calvert, Leslie, Reflections on Irish Linen, Vol. 5 No. 1
  • Lewis, Elizabeth (with a contribution on conservation by Marion Lamb), An 18th Century Linen Damask Tablecloth from Ireland, Vol. 6 No. 1
    
  • Lutton, S.C., The linen trade of County Armagh since the turn of the century, Vol. 2 No. 3
  • Lutton, Samuel C., Background history of Linen from the flax in the field to finished linen cloth, Vol. 8 No. 1
  • McElroy, Ken, The Scutch Mill, Vol. 7 No. 1
    

Cemeteries

• Find a Grave (founded by Jim Tipton) - click on "Ireland"; several famous Armachians are listed
• Guide to Gravestone Inscriptions - information from the PRONI
• History from Headstones - online search of gravestone inscriptions in Northern Ireland, by county
  • search facility includes maps by county and by religious denomination
• Journal of the Association for the Preservation of the Memorials of the Dead in Ireland, Printed at the University Press by Ponsonby and Gibbs, 1909
  • Vol. 1-3 & Index to 1888-1909 - no longer available on CD
  • Vol. 1-6, 1888-1906, LDS film 127952
  • Vol. 7-8, 1907-1912, LDS film 127954
  • Vol. 9, 1913-1916, LDS film 1279285, Item 15
• Mitchell, Bryan. A Guide to Ireland Graveyards and Cemeteries, Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1990
• Understanding the Stones - information from the PRONI
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • McElroy, Ken, Headstones to the past (poem), Vol. 5 No. 3
  • Wilson, Edward & Primrose, In praise of graveyards, Vol. 4 No. 3

Census

• 1602 - The First Census of the Fews
• 1659 - Irish Manuscripts Commission, A census of Ireland, circa 1659; with supplementary material from the poll money ordinances (1660-1661), edited by Seamus Pender
• 17th century - Census substitutes at the PRONI
• 18th & 19th centuries - Census substitutes at the PRONI
• 19th century - Discussion of census records available at the PRONI
• 1901 Census
  • The National Archives of Ireland, in collaboration with Library & Archives Canada
    
  • Holdings at the PRONI
  • South Armagh census returns, from the Devlin family's family history and South Armagh web site
• 1911 Census
  • The National Archives of Ireland, in collaboration with Library & Archives Canada
  • LDS film numbers, from the Fianna web site
• McCorry, Francis X., A glimpse of four Northern Ireland towns in the mid-nineteenth century, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 5 No. 3
  
• Northern Ireland General Register Office, Census of population, 1961: (county reports), H.M Stationery Off, Belfast, 1963
  • QUB Shelfmarks: Science Lib., Belfast Campus HA1148.C4/NORT; and, Armagh Campus Lib. - 10004157 and 1000386X
• Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency
  • Census home page
• Returns
  • 1813, 1821, 1831, 1841, 1851 - destroyed in the Four Courts Fire of 1922
  • 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891 - destroyed 'by order of the government', written by Sean Murphy, Centre for Irish Genealogical and Historical Studies, 25 October 2001
  • 1901, 1911 - complete and available online, by The National Archives of Ireland
  • 1921 - no census taken due to civil unrest
  • 1926 - apparently destroyed during WWII
  • 1937, 1951, 1961, 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001 - releases subject to a one-hundred year moratorium

Church Directories

• Church of Ireland
  • Diocese of Armagh
    
    • The Cathedral Church of St Patrick, Armagh
    • Comprises all the parishes of County Armagh except those listed below for the Diocese of Down and Dromore and the Diocese of Newry and Mourne
  • Diocese of Down and Dromore
    • Comprises the parishes of Magheralin, Montiaghs, Seagoe, and Shankill
  • Diocese of Newry and Mourne
    • Now subsumed under the Diocese of Down and Dromore, but historically consisted solely of Newry parish in the County Armagh portion of the Diocese of Newry and Mourne
• Evangelical Presbyterian Church of Ireland
  • Clerk of Presbytery, College Square East, Belfast, Northern Ireland
• Free Presbyterian Church of Ulster
• Jewish Ireland
• Methodist Churches in Portadown District
• Moslem - list of mosques in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland
• Non-Subscribing Presbyterians
• Presbyterian Church in Ireland
• Reformed Presbyterian Church of Ireland
• Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) in Ireland
• Roman Catholic -- Catholic Ireland
  • Archdiocese of Armagh
  • Diocese of Dromore
• The Association of Baptist Churches in Ireland

Church History

• Book list
• Biography
  • Barclay, John, Fasti of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland, 1840 to 1910, in 3 parts, Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland
  • Irish Church History - Free Irish Church history eBooks (links)
  • Book list
    
• Online resources
  • Armagh - Catholic Encylopedia
  • Archdiocese of Armagh (Roman Catholic)
  • Clendinning, Kieran, County Armagh Travels of an Early Methodist Preacher (Matthew Lanktree), from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society Vol. 6 No. 2
    
  • Church of Ireland Historical Society
  • Jews in Ireland - History - from Jewish Ireland
    • The Virtual Jewish History Tour - Ireland - from the Jewish Virtual Library
  • Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Armagh, 1836, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland
  • Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Armagh, 1846, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland
  • The Belfast Islamic Centre, Masjid Jami' Belfast (BIC)
    
• Sources
  • Records held at the AIGS
    • The Irish Catholic Directory, Almanac & Registry, 1889. Contents include: Irish Diocesan Register, Province of Armagh, pp 118-142; INDEX of Irish Dioceses, p. 219; INDEX of Parishes & Post Towns in Ireland, pp 219-229; Alphabetical INDEX of Bishops, Parish Priests, Curates in Ireland, with their Dioceses & Post-towns. pp 230-284; Provincials of Religious Orders in Ireland, p 285. Ref. Film England IoM 3.
  • Records held at the PRONI
    • The Congregational Union of Ireland (CR/7/1)
    • The Armagh Diocesan Registry Archive
      • Townlands in the Armagh Diocesan Registry Archive
    • The Armagh Diocesan Registry Papers: Clogher (DIO4/25)
    • The Irish Evangelical Society (CR/7/2)

Church Records

• Bibliography
  • Church of Ireland
    • Lalor, P., Church of Ireland Parish Registers prior to Civil Registration: Some Preliminary Observations, in Familia, Vol. 2, No. 1, 1985
    • O'Duill, G., Church Records after Disestablishment, in Irish Archives Bulletin, Vol. 5, 1975
  • Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
    • Eustace, P. Beryl, and Olive C. Goodbody, Quaker Records Dublin - Abstracts of Wills, Dublin, 1957
    • Goodbody, Olive C., and B.G. Hutton, Guide to Irish Quaker Records, Dublin: Dublin Stationery Officed for the Irish Manuscripts Commission, 1967
• County Armagh church records, a listing from Fianna
• General Description, from the PRONI 
• Handbooks
  • Irish church records: their history, availability, and use in family and local history research, edited by James G. Ryan, Flyleaf Press, Glenageary, Co. Dublin, 1992
  • Mitchell, Brian, A guide to Irish parish registers, Genealogical Pub. Co., Baltimore, 1995
• Sources
  • Baptist
  • Church of Ireland
  • Congregationalist
  • Irish Evangelical Society
  • Jewish
  • Methodist
  • Other denominations
  • Presbyterian
  • Quaker
  • Roman Catholic

Civil Registration

• General Register Office [GRO] of the Republic of Ireland, at Dublin
  
  • History of Registration in Ireland - from the GRO
  • Research page provides information about how to conduct searches in the GRO's reading room, and details of that office's holdings of civil records - includes records for the six counties that now make up Northern Ireland to 31 December 1922
    
• General Register Office - from the PRONI's pamphlet, Your Family Tree: 25
  
• General Register Office of Northern Ireland [GRONI], Belfast
  • Historical records
    • GRONI holds birth and death registers from 1 January 1864, and marriages from 1 January 1922
    • District Registrars' offices hold marriage registers from 1 April 1845 for non-Roman Catholic marriages and from 1 Jan 1864 for all marriages; also, birth and death registrations, but only for two years after the date of registration
      • Armagh City & District Council, The Palace, Demesne, Armagh  BT60 4EL
      • Craigavon Borough Council, Civic Centre, PO Box 66, Lakeview Road, Craigavon  BT64 1AL
      • Newry & Mourne District Council, District Council Offices, Town Hall, Bank Parade, Newry  BT35 6HR
        
  • Public search facilities:
    • Assisted and Index search facilities are provided, by appointment only
      
    • Computer indexes for births (1864 onwards), deaths (1864 onwards), marriages (1845 onwards), and World War II deaths (1939-1945)
• LDS film Numbers, provided by genfindit.com:
  • Births
  • Marriages
  • Deaths
• McCorry, Francis X., Infant Mortality in Northern Irish Provincial Towns, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 5 No. 1
  
• Superintendent Registrars' Districts by County, provided by the British Isles Family History Society - U.S.A.

Court Records

• Book list
  
• Newspapers
  • The Armagh Guardian commenced publication in December, 1844. News of court sessions were featured regularly. See the oldirelandnews web site, an ongoing, volunteer project to transcribe 18th & 19th century Irish newspapers
• Records held by the PRONI
  • Grand Jury Records
    • Grand Jury, County Armagh - lists, PRONI ref. T/647
  • List of non-departmental Government records, Courts and Local Authorities
  • Solicitors' archives
  • The O'Hagan papers

Description and Travel

• Book list
• Environment and Heritage Service of Northern Ireland
  • Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty: Ring of Gullion
  • Areas of Special Scientific Interest
  • Landscape Character Areas
  • Listed Historic Buildings Database
  • Monuments and Buildings Record
  • Wildlife Reserves and Protected Landscapes
  • Northern Ireland Sites and Monuments database: search for "Armagh"
  • Special Protection Area: Lough Neagh
• Discover Ireland - includes many features for Northern Ireland, including a route planner
• Discover Northern Ireland
  
• Photograph and Postcard Collection - held at the Irish and Local Studies Library, Armagh
  
• Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  
  • Lutton, S.C., Travel and transport in the North of Ireland, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • McIntyre, Harold E., Memories of the Railway Steam Age, Vol. 6 No. 1
    
  • Sleator, A.G., Problems for railway transport 60 years ago, Vol. 6 No. 2
  • Wilson, Amanda, The Newry navigation: A brief history and Plans for the future, Vol. 6 No. 1
    
• South Armagh Tourism
• Translink, Northern Ireland Bus & Train Service
• Ulster for Your Holidays, 1930, from Eddie Connolly

Directories

• 1805-1806-1807 - Holden's Triennial Directory of 85 Provincial Towns in Great Britain & Ireland.1805-1806-1807 (includes Belfast). Held by the Australian Insitute of Genealogical Studies, ref. fiche England Gen 159
• 1820 - Thomas Bradshaw, The general directory of Newry, Armagh, and the towns of Dungannon, Portadown, Tandragee, Lurgan, Waringstown, Banbridge, Warrenpoint, Rosstrevor, Kilkeel, Rathfriland, 1820, Davidson Books, Ballynahinch, 1984
• 1820/1 - Pigot, J., The Commercial directory, of Ireland, Scotland, and the four most northern counties of England, for 1820-21 and 1822. 1820/21 & 22 - LDS film 0962702, Item 1
• 1824 - J. Pigot and Co., City of Dublin and Hibernian Provincial Directory
  • Index of 789 entries summarized across all County Armagh towns, and sorted alphabetically
• 1839 - Mathew Martin, Belfast Directory. Also 1841, 1842
• 1840 - Lennox, William, The new commercial directory of Armagh, Newry, Londonderry, Drogheda, Dundalk, Monaghan, Omagh, Strabane, Dungannon, Lisburn, Lurgan, Portadown, and neighbouring towns; containing a history of those towns ... [Part I.]-II, pr. at the Standard Office, Derry, 1840
• 1843 - Henderson, John, Henderson's new Belfast directory, and Northern Repository for 1843-44; containing information relating to the counties of Antrim, Armagh, and Down, with lists of the inhabitants of the chief towns, also an alphabetical list of the inhabitants of Belfast, together with a street directory, and a classification of trades and professions, Henderson, Belfast, 1843
• 1846 - Slater, National Commercial Directory of Ireland
  • Index of 1,825 entries for residents of County Armagh (Large file, 362.1 KB)
• 1852 - James A. Henderson, Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory
  • Issued also in 1854, 1856, 1858, 1861, 1863, 1865, 1868, 1870, 1877, 1880, 1884, 1887, 1890, 1894, 1900
• 1856 - Slater, Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland
• 1865 - R. Wynne, Business Directory of Belfast
• 1870 - Slater, Directory of Ireland
• 1881 - Slater, Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland
• 1883 - The Armagh (County) directory and almanac: for 1883, Eighth yearly issue, Pr. and publ. by S. Farrell, Portadown, [1883]
• 1888 - Henry Bassett, County Armagh 100 years ago, a guide and directory, 1888, Friars Bush, Belfast, 1989
  • Assizes, barony cess collectors, Church of Ireland, and Commissioners, submitted by Kathleen Torrisi to Dave Jassie's County Armagh Links web pages
• 1894 - Slater, Royal Commercial Directory of Ireland
• 1910 - Belfast and Ulster Towns Directory - Contents Page - hosted by Library Ireland
  
• Holdings of street directories at the PRONI, featuring an online search facility
• Lennon Wylie street directories
  

Emigration and Immigration

• -----, Passenger & immigration lists bibliography 1538 - 1900, North Irish Roots, Vol 1.6, p 174
• Akenson, Don, The Irish Diaspora: A Primer, Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 1996
• The Mellon Centre for Migration Studies, Ulster American Folk Park, Omagh
  • Irish Emigration Database 1750-1930
    
• Crawford, Margaret, ed., The Hungry Stream: Essays on Famine and Emigration, Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 1997
• Emigration - A New Life, online display hosted by the PRONI
• Emigration records - the PRONI's pamphlet entitled, Your Family Tree Series: 11
  • to Australia
  • to Canada
  • to the U.S.A.
• Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild
• Ireland-Australia transportation database, National Archives of Ireland
• Lee, Grace Lawless, The Huguenot settlements in Ireland, Longmans, Green and co, London, New York, [1936]
• Plantation of Ulster, from the BBC
• Whitaker, Anne-Maree, "Armagh convicts in Australia, 1800-1806," Seanchas Ardmacha, Vol 16 no 1 (1994) pp100-102

Gazetteers

• Book list
• Ulster for Your Holiday, 1939, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland
• Ordnance Survey Memoirs of Ireland: County Armagh, 1835-1838; reprinted; Angelique Day and Patrick McWilliams, editors, and Lisa English, Ordnance Survey of Ireland; pub. Institute of Irish Studies in association with the Royal Irish Academy, Belfast, 1990
  • OS Memoirs holdings at the PRONI, Belfast
• Lewis, Samuel, "Armagh (County of)", from Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland [1837]
  • See also Lewis' description of "Lough Neagh" [1837]

Genealogy

• Families
• Handbooks
• Online resources
• Research services:
  • Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies
    • Holdings for Ireland, general
    • Holdings for the County Armagh
  • Hiring a DNA testing company
  • PRONI's list of independent commercial researchers
  • Roots Ireland
• Societies
  • Genealogical Society of Ireland, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin
  • Irish Genealogical Research Society, Rainham, Kent, England
  • North of Ireland Family History Society, Belfast
  • Society of Genealogists, London, England

Heraldry

• College of Arms, London, England
• Genealogy and Heraldry Collection, at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• Kelly, Patrick (1893-), Irish family names with origins, meanings, clans, arms, crests, and mottoes, 2nd ed., [S.l., s.n.], 1958
• MacLysaght, Edward, Irish families: their names, arms, and origins, 4th ed., Irish Academic Press, Dublin, 1985
• Rooney, John (1837-), A genealogical history of Irish families with their crests and armorial bearings, [Cherouny printing and publishing co., New York, 1896]

Historical Geography

• Maps of Ireland, from Department of History, University of Wisconsin - Madison
• Maps of Ireland and Northern Ireland, from CAIN [Conflict Archive on the Internet] Web Service
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society:
  • Cassells, Brian, The Ulster Canal, Vol. 8 No. 2
  • Redmond, Jack, Whodunnit? A Lough Neagh map mystery of 1765, Vol. 7 No. 3

History

• Book list
• Online resources
  • A Short History of Ireland, from BBC History
    
  • CAIN [Conflict Archive on the Internet] Web Service
  • Centre for Irish and Scottish Studies, University of Ulster
  • Cruíthní - History of Ulster
  • Joyce, P.W., A Concise History of Ireland - hosted by Library Ireland
    
  • Key Events in Northern Ireland History, from BBC News
  • Northern Ireland Environment Agency - includes Northern Ireland's built heritage, protected areas, and places to visit
  • Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
    • Fitzgerald, Des, The Brackagh Moss Accident (extracts), Vol. 6 No. 3
      
    • Mitchel, N.C. and R.G. Morton, Lough Neagh - Ulster's inland sea, Vol. 2 No. 1
    • Mooney, the Rev. Dean B., The "Danes" on Lough Neagh, Vol. 1 No. 2
    • Robinson, George, The monuments of County Armagh, Vol. 2 No. 1
    • Weatherup, D.R.M., Cuppage carvings in Armagh County Museum, 1978 ed.
    • Wilson, Amanda, The Newry navigation - A brief history and plans for the future, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • The Road to Northern Ireland, 1167 to 1921, from BBC History
    
  • Research Guide: Women in Irish History, National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
• Sources
  • Alphabetical index to privately deposited records at the PRONI, Belfast
  • Collections - holdings at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
  • Edwards, R. Dudley (Robert Dudley) (1909-), Sources for early modern Irish history, 1534-1641, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge [Cambridgeshire], New York, 1985
  • Irish Studies Gateway, Queen's University, Belfast
  • Irish & Local Studies Library (SELB), Armagh
    
  • Photographic collections at the PRONI, Belfast

Land and Property

• Armagh Landowners, 1876:
  • Armagh Landowners, 1876, an index, from Norm Ruddock's Newry, Donaghmore, Loughbrickland & Banbridge web site
  • Index of Armagh Landowners in 1876, prepared by Enda A. Lee, and posted to John Hayes' Fáilte Romhat web site
  • Full document, shows name of owner, address, extent of holding, and valuation; from John Hayes' web site [Warning: large .pdf file, 1701Kb]
• Book list
  
• Canning, Joe, Landlords and Tenants in Co. Armagh, hosted by the Poyntzpass and District Local History Society
• Clendinning, K., In the wake of progress (re: houses of the traditional style), from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 3 No. 2
  
• Freeholders Records - Searchable online at PRONI's web site
• Encumbered Estates papers - Description of the records at the PRONI's web site
  • LDS holdings
    • Rentals of encumbered Irish estates, pre 1860; ref. FHL BRITISH Films 258793, 258794 & 258805
• Irish Manuscripts Commission, Books of Survey and Distribution: being abstracts of various surveys and instruments of title, 1636-1703, held by the PRONI
• Land Registry of Northern Ireland, Belfast
• Registry of Deeds - Description of the documents held at the PRONI
  • Registry of Deeds Index Project, Ireland - hosted by Nick Reddan
    
  • The LDS hold 2,687 films under the caption, Transcripts of memorials of deeds, conveyances and wills, 1708-1929, available for loan at their FHCs (Family History Centres). The FHL catalogue is online.

Language

• BBC
  • Gaeilge/Irish broadcast homepage
    
  • Northern Ireland Archive, 1924-present - sound recordings in English, Irish, and Ulster Scots
    
• Brendan Adams (linguist & dialect archivist) Collection - held at the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
  
• Bryson and MacAdam Manuscripts Collection of 18th & 19th century Irish language manuscripts, Belfast Central Library
• Hibernica Collection in the Special Collections at Queen's University, Belfast
  
• Irish Language Collection at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• Irish & Local Studies Library (SELB), Armagh - plays, novels and poetry in the Irish language
  
• Joyce, P.W., The Irish Language - hosted by Library Ireland
  
• Joyce, P.W., A Smaller Social History of Ancient Ireland (1906)- hosted by Library Ireland
• Kelly, Dermot, The development of the English language in Ulster, from Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 7 No. 3
• Kennedy Collection of Ulster Poets - rare collection of Ulster's "rhyming weavers", in English and in Ulster Scots - held by the Linenhall Library, Belfast
  
• McCoy, Gordon with Maolcholaim Scott, Gaelic Identities: Aithne na nGael, Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 2000, ISBN 085389766
• Primate Beresford papers: letters and papers 1830-51, concerning the propagation of the Protestant religion through the Irish language - held at the PRONI, Belfast (ref. D/3279)
  
• Robert Shipboy MacAdam Manuscript: manuscript of 23 folios, dated c1842-56, for an English-Irish Dictionary of Ulster Irish - held in Special Collections at Queen's University, Belfast
  
• Simmons, D. A., A list of peculiar words and phrases formerly in common use in the County Armagh, together with expressions at one time current in South Donegal, compiled for P.W. Joyce, Freeman's Journal, Dublin, 1890
• Sir John Byers Collection of Ulster dialect items c1880-c1910; also, the Slip Archive of Dialect Items c1900 - held at the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum
  
• St Mary's University College, Belfast - Ghaeilge Collection
  
• T.F. O'Rahilly Papers: collection of Irish manuscripts and printed books by the distinguished Celtic scholar - held in the Special Collections at Queen's University, Belfast [citation from RASCAL]
  
• T.G.F. Paterson Fews Dialect Collection - original typescript volume held in the Armachiana collection in Armagh County Museum; copy held in the Ulster Dialect & Linguistic Diversity Archive of the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
  
• Ulster Dialect & Linguistic Diversity Archive of the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
• Irish Language Collection, Irish Language Holdings, Ulster Scots Language & Dialects of Ulster, and Ulster Scots Holdings,  at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• University of Ulster at Coleraine - Henry Morris Collection and the Irish Collection of 19th & 20th century titles in Irish and English
  

Law and Legislation

• Copyright for Family Historians - from GENUKI
• Managing Copyright - Her Majesty's Stationery Office [HMSO] manages and licenses the re-use of Crown copyright material, defining policy and providing advice and guidance on a range of copyright matters.

Manors

• Bence-Jones, Mark, Guide to Irish Country Houses, 2nd ed., Trafalgar Square Books, 1996
• Landed Estates Records held at the PRONI
  • Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Draft sectional list of records of administration of landed estates in the P[ublic Record Office]... , Belfast, 1968 (QUB)
• Landed Estate Court Records - description from the Family History Library
  
• Major Collections held at the PRONI
• The DiCamillo Companion to British & Irish Country Houses
• Townlands by Estate Ownership - Geographical Index hosted online by the PRONI

Maps

• Book list
• Online resources:
  • Church of Ireland:
    • Dioceses in Ireland, from the Church of Ireland web site
  • Maps of Ireland and Northern Ireland, from CAIN [Conflict Archive on the Internet] Web Service
  • County Armagh, from Ulster Ancestry
  • Geographical Index, hosted online by the PRONI
  • Redmond, Jack, A layman defends John Rocque, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 6 No. 2
    
  • Roman Catholic:
    • Pastoral Areas, from the Archdiocese of Armagh
    • Interactive map for Roman Catholic records
  • Townland maps for a number of areas in the County Armagh, from Bob Sinton
  • UlsterBus route map for Armagh
• Sources
  • Ireland Maps, from Family Search
  • Maps held at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
  • Maps, Plans and Surveys held by the PRONI
  • Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland (OSNI) - Map Shop
  • Townland maps for the County Armagh, held at the AIGS, ref. fiche Arm1

Military History

• AIGS holdings
  • Film Irl Gen 30 contains: Muster Roll Springhill Corps, 27 January 1852; Armagh Militia, A-C, 1808; Will of Richard Gervais  Ker, 1823.
  • Film Irl Gen 28 contains:
    • The Muster Roll of Armagh, 1630, pp 131-164. Men in alpha sequence from 1831-c1855, with many interesting observations relative to issues of arms, transfers to Armagh Militia, police, etc., also details such as deaths & enrolments). Seagrove Yeomanry, Journal Occurrence & Memorandum Book 1820.(1792-1839).
    • Armagh Militia Records, including: 8th The Armagh Regiment, 1793-1833; 75th Regiment, 1833-1854; 75th Armagh Light Infantry, 1854-1881; 3rd Battalion Princess Victoria's Regiment, 1881-1907; Officers serving in the Armagh Regiment, 1801, 1813, 1854; Officers serving in the Light Infantry, 1855, 1857-1859,1864-1865,1868-1871, 1874-1881; Officers serving in 3rd Battalion Princess Victoria's (Royal Irish Fusiliers).1881-1907.
• Army Museums - Ogilby Trust Museum Portal
• Book list
• McCance Collection: the book of original documents and transcripts has strong military associations relating mostly to the 1798 period in Ulster - held at the PRONI, Belfast (ref. D/272, MIC/575) [citation from RASCAL]
  
• Military History Collections, National Museums, Northern Ireland
• North Irish Horse Regimental Collection
• Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) - Museum
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Jensen, Mary, War-time memories of a child, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • Lutton, Samuel, County Armagh yeomanry corps, Vol. 1 No. 2
  • Martin, Bertie, Notes from a war-time diary, Vol. 7 No. 3
    
  • Sleator, A.G., A journey of remembrance, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • Smyth, P., Wartime memories, Vol. 6 No. 3
• Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regimental Museum
• Royal Irish Fusiliers Regimental Museum
  
• Royal Irish Regiment - from Simon Fordham
• Royal Ulster Rifles Museum

Military Records

• D'Alton, John (1792-1867), Illustrations, historical and genealogical, of King James's Irish army list, 1689
• Forces Records - list of articles published in North Irish Roots
  
• Index of Armagh Muster Rolls, c.1630, from article published in Seanchas Ardmacha in 1970. Vol. 5, No. 2: Author: T.G.F. Paterson, hosted by Jane Lyons
  
• Militia, Yeomanry Lists and Muster Rolls held at the PRONI
• National Archives of the United Kingdom [London] - Online Catalogue
• Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) - A history of policing in Ireland - hosted by the PSNI [Police Service of Northern Ireland]
  • Genealogy information

Names, Geographical

• Book list
• Goblet, Y. M., ed. A Topographical Index of the Parishes and Townlands of Ireland in Sir William Petty's Mss. Barony Maps (c. 1655-9) and Hiberniae Delineatio (c.1672), Dublin, 1932
  • Reprinted Genealogical Pub. Co., Baltimore, Md., 1999
  • FHL film 599359
• Ireland Gazetteers, from Family Search - includes a section entitled, Finding Place-Names in the Family History Library Catalog
  
• Journal articles
• Northern Ireland Place-Name Project, a collaboration of Queen's University, Belfast, Land & Property Services, Arts & Humanities Research Council, and Foras na Gaeilge
  
• Online resources:
  • Irish Placenames, from Best Internet Genealogy
  • Joyce, P.W., LL.D., M.R.I.A., Irish Local Names Explained; hosted by Library Ireland
  • Mooney, Rev. Dean B., Some Townlands and Their Derivations, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 1 No. 2
    
  • PRONI, Townlands in the County Armagh, from the PRONI's Geographical Index
  • 1851 IreAtlas Townland Database
• Ordnance Survey: Name Books
  • PRONI MIC.6
  • NLI Collection G
• Townland Indexes, based on census data from the following census years:
  • 1851: IreAtlas Townland Database.
    • Also available for purchase in book form: General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes and Baronies of Ireland, Based on the Census of Ireland for the Year 1851, reprint of original 1861 publication, Genealogical Publishing Co., repr2000
  • 1871: FHL British Film 476999 Item 2
  • 1901: FHL British Film 865092
• Ulster Names, a poem by John Hewitt, presented by the Creggan History Society
  
• Ulster Place-Name Society

Names, Personal

• Book list
• O'Growney, Eugene, The 'Muls' and 'Gils': Some Irish Surnames, from The Irish Ecclesiastical Record, Vol. III, 1898 - hosted by Library Ireland
  
• On-line Irish Names Research Directory, maintained by Graham Jaunay of Australia
• Researching Irish Names, an article at Fianna's web site
• Surnames - a list of articles focusing on surnames researched and published in North Irish Roots
  

Newspapers

• Newspapers available on microfilm - held at the PRONI
• Broadside ballad: John and his Wife on using Tea - from The Word on the Street, an online exhibition about Broadside publications, hosted by the National Library of Scotland
  
• Irish and Local Studies Library (SELB) in Armagh - holdings include microforms in excess of 6,000, including approximately 350 journal titles
  
• Newspaper Abstracts - an ongoing, volunteer project to transcribe 18th & 19th century Irish newspapers:
  • All Ireland
  • County Armagh
• Periodicals and Newspapers held at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• The British Library - Newspaper Library

Nobility

• Book list
• Burke's Peerage and Gentry - a subscription web site
• Sources
  • Refer to the PRONI's Introductions to significant privately deposited archives. Select from A-Z at the bottom of the page, to download pdf documents pertaining to various sets of historical papers. Holdings related to the county of Armagh include the following, though this is not an exhaustive list:
    
    • Brownlow, William - PRONI ref. D1928
    • Conyngham, William, Colonel; in The Lenox-Conyngham Papers - PRONI ref. D1449, D501, T3161, etc.
    • Hamilton, James, 1st Earl of Clanbrassill - PRONI ref. T776, T2253, T2379, T2781
      
    • Richardson family of Richhill, in The Lenox-Conyngham Papers - PRONI ref. D1449, D501, T3161, etc.
      

Obituaries

• Obits of Those Who Came From Co. Armagh, Ireland - from Cathy Joynt Labath's The Irish in Iowa
• Search the news articles posted at Ireland Old News
• Irish Death Notice Index - hosted by Ireland Old News

Occupations

• 1839 List of Persons who obtained Game Certificates in Ulster, PRONI ref. T688
• Alphabetical index to the names contained in the premium entitlement lists of the trustees of the linen and hempen manufactures of Ireland: also known by the short title: 1796 spinning wheel survey of Ireland, All-Ireland Heritage, Vienna, Va., c1986 (12 microfiches, All-Ireland Heritage microfiche series)
  • County Armagh flax growers, 1796 -- from John Hayes' Fáilte Romhat web site
• "Millies and Doffers," an article about mill workers and women labourers in the Irish linen industry, from the BBC
  
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Calvert, Leslie, Reflections on Irish Linen, Vol. 5 No. 1
    
  • Cooper, S.J.W., People I Met (1) The Blacksmith, Vol. 2 No. 2
  • Cooper, S.J.W., People I Met (2) The Carrier, Vol. 2 No. 2
    
  • Hunter, E., The Hens' Bucket, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • McGeown, William, All in a day's work: Memories from the farm over 75 years, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • McGeown, William, The Agricultural Revolution (1940), Vol. 8 No. 2
    
  • McGeown, William, The Lean Years (on the farm during the 1930s), Vol. 8 No. 1
    
  • Robinson, George, Farm life and farming before the Second World War, Vol. 6 No. 3
  • Robinson, George, The Early Tied Worker: Cottiers, Hiring, Apprenticeship, both Articled and Indentured, Vol. 7 No. 1
    
• Crafts and Trades, Collections and Research, Folk Collections, Ulster Folk and Transport Museum
• Irish Revenue Commissioners, 1709, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland web site

Orphans and Orphanages

• A Decent Set of Girls: The Irish Famine Orphans of the Thomas Arbuthnot, 1849-1850, by Richard Reid and Cheryl Mongan (Yass, N.S.W.: Yass Heritage Project, 1996)
  
• Adoption of Irish orphans by Québec families
  
• Arnold, M. & Laskey, H., Children of the Poor Clares: The Story of an Irish Orphanage, Appletree, Belfast, 1985
• Barefoot and Pregnant? Irish Famine Orphans in Australia, by Trevor McClaughlin (Melbourne: Genealogical Society of Victoria, 1991)
  
• Porteus, Robert John Norman, In the name of Jesus: a history of the County Armagh Protestant Orphan Society... , The Author, (Annaghmore), 1986 (QUB)
• Protestant Orphan Society Records, 1828-1973, National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
  
• The Feisty Colleens: Irish Famine Female Orphans in Pre-Separation Queensland (video), by Ray Debnam (Pelican Waters, Queensland: Ray Debnam, 2009)
  
• The Golden Bridge: Young Immigrants to Canada, 1833-1839, by Marjorie Kohli (Toronto: Natural Heritage Books, c2003)
  
• The Workhouse Orphans - information from the PRONI
• Unnamed Irish Boys on Convict Ships, 1841-1843, sent to Queen's Orphanage, Hobart, Van Dieman's Land (New Town, Tasmania: J. Purtscher, 1993)
• Wages Paid to Orphans Index, 1849-1851, created by Pat Stemp and Aileen Trinder, Archives Office of New South Wales (Rockdale, N.S.W.: Pastkeys, 1996)
  

Periodicals

• Armagh Observatory: Textbooks and Scientific Journal Library Collection of 3000 volumes and 17000 journal volumes, treating on astronomy and related sciences c1790-present
  
• Belfast Ulster Tatler, 1996-, Ulster tatler portrait series: mid-Ulster edition: covering counties Armagh, Tyrone and Fermanagh
• Church of Ireland, Diocese of Armagh, Synod, Journal of the Synod of Armagh, 1898
• Directory of Irish Family History Research (annual), published by Ulster Historical Foundation, available to members
• Familia - Ulster Genealogical Review, published by Ulster Historical Foundation
• North Irish Roots, published by the North of Ireland Family History Society
• Seanchas Ardmacha, Journal of the Armagh Diocesan Society, Fr. Réamonn Ó Muirí, editor
  • List of contents, 1990 - 1997
  • NLI call nos. 1H 287, Coll H (Shelved at 1H 187 from Vol. 17 No. 2, 1998); and, Ir 27411 s 4, Coll Ir.
  • Partial index, 1954 - 1959 from Jane Lyons' From Ireland web site
• SELB Newspaper & Journal Collection: microforms in excess of 6,000, approximately 350 journal titles - held at the Irish & Local Studies Library, Armagh
  
• The Irish Ancestor
  • Published between 1969-1986 (18 vols.), edited by Rosemary ffolliott of Fethard, Co. Tipperary, Ireland.
  • Available from Eneclann, as described by Dick Eastman
• The Irish Sword
  • Journal of the Military History Society of Ireland. Published since 1949 by the Military History Society of Ireland.

Politics and Government

• Book list
• Centre for Advancement of Women in Politics, Queen's University, Belfast
• Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland (EPPI), 1801-1922 - Digitisation project based at the University of Southampton
• Major Collections held at the PRONI
  • A guide to archives of political parties and archives of political interest, including papers relating to MPs' constituency affairs, held by the PRONI
  • The Cahir Healy Papers
  • The E.J. Saunderson Papers
  • The Ulster Unionist Council papers
• Northern Ireland Political Collection held at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• Northern Ireland Executive
• Records of Central and Local Government and Public Bodies, held by the PRONI:
  • Government Departmental Records
  • Non-Departmental Public Records, Courts and Local Authorities
• The Ulster Covenant - Signators on petition opposed to Home Rule, 1912. An online, digitised database hosted by the PRONI.

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

• Armagh Poor Law Union -- at Peter Higginbotham's web site, The Workhouse
• Lurgan Poor Law Union -- at Peter Higginbotham's web site, The Workhouse
• Poor Law Records held at the PRONI

Probate

• AIGS holdings
  • Armagh District Will Book 1861-1864 (Film Irl Gen 45)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1864-1868 (Film Irl Gen 46)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1858-1861 (Film Irl Gen 47)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1872-1875 (Film Irl Gen 48)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1877-1879 (Film Irl Gen 49)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1880-1881 (Film Irl Gen 50)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1882-1883 (Film Irl Gen 51)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1884-1885 (Film Irl Gen 52)
  • Armagh District Will Book 1886-1887 (Film Irl Gen 53)
• Wills and Testamentary Records held at the National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
• Wills and Testamentary Records held at the PRONI, Belfast; search the Will Calendars online

Public Records

• Holdings of Armagh-related documents at the PRONI
• Immigrants at Gross ÃŽle Quarantine Station, 1832-1937, Library and Archives Canada
• Ireland-Australia Transportation Records, 1791-1853, National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
  
• National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
  
• Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast
• The Shamrock and the Maple Leaf - archived web pages, hosted by Library and Archives Canada
  

Schools

• 1824 Survey of Irish Schools - submitted by Ray Marshall to Waterlily's County Kerry Genealogy web site
• Derryoughan School House Co. Armagh, PRONI ref. D/1553
• Irish & Local Studies Library (SELB), Armagh - holds School Report and Attendance books
• National Education Records held at the PRONI
• Primate Beresford papers: correspondence and reports about various schools before the introduction of the National System of Education - PRONI ref. T/2772
  
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Hunter, Emily, School Days Long Ago, Vol. 7 No. 1
    
  • Maguire, Albert, Accountability in education - an historical perspective, Vol. 5 No. 3
  • Maguire, Albert, Accountability in education - Part II, Vol. 6 No. 1
• The Early Schools of Ireland, ca.1800 - from an e-mail posted by Jane Lyons to NIR-L, and posted to Norm Ruddock's Newry, Donaghmore, Loughbrickland & Banbridge web site

Social Life and Customs

• A Chapter on Irish Costume, from the Illustrated Dublin Journal, No. 4, 28 September 1861 - hosted by Library Ireland
• ARK Northern Ireland, Political and Social Archive - in collaboration with Queen's University Belfast and University of Ulster.
• Arts & Entertainment Records held at the PRONI
• Arts & Humanities Research Institute, University of Ulster
• Book List
  
• Cricket - The Northern Cricket Union of Ireland papers, held at the PRONI
• Costume Collection, Armagh County Museum
• Culture Northern Ireland, a joint project between the Linenhall Library, Belfast, the Nerve Centre, Derry, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland, and the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure, Northern Ireland
• Folk Life Archive, and Social Life & Traditions Collections, held in the Archival Collections at the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
  
• Flood, William H. Grattan, A History of Irish Music (1905) - hosted by Library Ireland
• Ireland: Her Wit, Peculiarities and Popular Superstitions, with Anecdotes, Legendary and Characteristic, by Distinguished Irish Writers (c1850) - hosted by Library Ireland
  
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • England, R., Ulster Memories, Vol. 3 No. 3, written in 1938 and published in the Dalhousie Review
  • Hunter, E., The Hens' Bucket, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • Hunter, E., These I Have Loved, Vol. 6 No. 3
    
  • Jensen, Mary, Little memories of country life, Vol. 8 No. 1
  • Lutton, S.C., Poems, ballads and rhymes, 1996/97
  • McElroy, Eric, with illustrations by Julie Trimble, An Old Game ("Catty"), Vol. 6 No. 1
  • Tallon, Alfie, Robbing the Wild Bees' Nests, Vol. 6 No. 2
    
• Sports Records at the PRONI, and Alphabetical Index to Sports Records
• The Theatre and Performing Arts Archive at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• The W.R. Rodgers Papers, PRONI ref. D/2833

Societies

• Armagh and District History Group
• Craigavon Historical Society
• Creggan History Society
• Federation for Ulster Local Studies
  
• North Armagh Family History Society
  
• Poyntzpass and District Local History Society
  
• Secret Societies (1760-1762) and (1785-1790) from A Concise History of Ireland, by P.W. Joyce - hosted by Library Ireland
• Thompson, Rev. Dr. J., Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland, North Irish Roots, Vol 2.4, p 125
• Ulster History Circle
• Ulster Local History Trust
• What is an Orangeman? from Dublin University Magazine, Vol. V, No. XXVIII, April 1835 - hosted by Library Ireland
  
• Yale University Divinity Library, Special Collections
  • Baptist Union of Great Britain and Ireland, pub. London, 1848, Box 29
  • Irish Society for Promoting the Scriptural Education and Religious Instruction of Irish Roman Catholics, Dublin, 1859, Box 11
  • London Hibernian Society for Establishing Schools and Circulating the Holy Scriptures in Ireland,1807-1830, Box 36
  • Religious Tract and Book Society for Ireland, Dublin, 1833, 1838, Box 14
  • Scripture Readers' Society for Ireland, Dublin, 1834, Box 14
  • Society for Protecting the Rights of Conscience in Ireland, Dublin, 1852, Box 40
  • Sunday School Society for Ireland, Dublin, 1829, 1836-1837, Box 15

Taxation

• Davis, Thomas, The Valuation of Ireland (Ordnance Survey) - hosted by Library Ireland
  
• Poll Taxes
  • AIGS holds: County Armagh Poll Tax, 1660. (Film Irl Gen 29)
• Tithe Applotment Books
  • AIGS holdings:
    • Tithe Applotment Books of Northern Ireland c. 1823-1838. Books. (Film Tithes N 38-66)
    • Tithe Applotment Books of Northern Ireland c. 1823-1838, INDEX to Surnames. (Film Tithes N 1-35) 
    • Tithe Applotment Books of Northern Ireland c. 1823-1838, INDEX to Townlands. (Film Tithes N 36-37)
  • Description and outline of holdings at the PRONI
  • Tithe Applotment Books, FHL films 258,442 to 258,470; sorted by parish
  • Surnames are indexed in the Householder's Index, FHL film 919001
• Valuation Records
  • 1828-1840, Townland valuations
    • Primarily a valuation of land, but cited those houses that had an annual value of £3 or more; after 1838, this cut-off point for specific mention was increased to £5
    • Return of Progress in Ordnance Survey and Townland Valuation of Ireland, HMSO, 1840: reference information from EPPI (Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland, 1801-1922)
    • Select Committee on townland valuation of Ireland: report together with the minutes of evidence, appendix and index, HMSO, 1844: abstract from EPPI
  • 1848-1864, General valuation of rateable property in Ireland, "Griffith's Valuation"
    • Listed every occupier of land, the lessor of that land, size of the holding, and the rate payable on that holding
    • Griffith's Valuation - Armagh 1864 - index published online by John Hayes, on his Fáilte Romhat web site
    • Griffith's Valuation - fully searchable, with digitised images of pages from the valuation books, and maps; supported by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government, Republic of Ireland
      
  • 1864 to early 1930s - Valuation Revision Books - search facility supported by the PRONI, Belfast
    
  • 1956/57, Northern Ireland General Revaluation
  • 1975, Third General Revaluation, and Revisions up to 1993
  • Description and outline of holdings at the PRONI
  • Ireland Householders Index, description by Family Search

Voting Registers

• Armagh (Northern Ireland: County), Register ... of persons entitled to vote at any election ... which shall take place ... between the 15th day of March, 1851, and the 1st day of December, 1852, pr. by J. McWatters, 17, English Street, Armagh, [1852]
• Voters, Poll and Freeholder Books held at the PRONI

Find help, report problems, and contribute information.