 |
 |
England |  |
Contents |  |
Information relating to all of Sussex |  |
Sussex Towns & Parishes |
Sussex, maritime County in SE. of England, bounded N. and NE. by Surrey and
Kent, SE. and S. by the English Channel, and W. and NW. by Hants; greatest
length, N. and S., 27 miles; greatest breadth, E. and W., 76 miles; area,
933,269 acres, population 490,505. From the Hants border, near Petersfield, to
Beachy Head, the county is traversed by the South Downs; to the N. of this range
of chalk hills is the valley of the Weald, rising into the Forest Ridge on the
NE., and sinking on the SE., towards the sea, into wide marshes. The rivers are
not important; they are the Arun, Adur, Ouse, and Rother, all flowing S. to the
English Channel. ...more
[Transcribed from Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.]
Sussex parishes fall almost entirely within the Diocese of Chichester
Original parish registers are held by the ESRO and WSRO, Bishops Transcipts by the WSRO.
List of Sussex Directories 1784-1975 by John H. Farrant, a comprehensive listing with details of which Sussex and national libraries hold copies.
The Digital Library of Historical Directories has the following Sussex directories available:
Steve Pickthall has transcribed the Sussex places in Kelly's Post Office Directory of Essex, Herts, Middlesex, Kent, Surrey and Sussex, 1867. See the parish pages for links to these transcriptions.
The Sussex OPC scheme is currently transcribing 22 Sussex directories
Before 1858, there were a number of probate jurisdictions in Sussex.
West Sussex Record Office hold Wills for the parishes in:
East Sussex Record Office hold wills for the parishes in:
